Do you have to constantly tell your students or other people to make a copy of your document so that they can edit their own copy?  Well, you can force this to happen just by changing the link of the file.

Go up to the top of your file (google doc, slides, etc) and go to the end of the URL.  Delete the word “edit” and everything after it.

 

Type the word “copy” in it’s place. Then click return.

 

When you give this link to other people, it will automatically prompt them to make a copy of your file. In fact, they won’t even be able to see your file, until they click on the Make a Copy button.

Now, you don’t have to worry about anyone changing your original file, or reminding people with view only rights to make a copy to edit.

 

Kristie Hughes on Email
Kristie Hughes
Educational Technologist @ Northern Buckeye
Google Certified Trainer