|“Zoom bombing” is when uninvited participants appear in a Zoom class with the primary purpose of causing chaos. To help mitigate the obtrusiveness, you may want to implement the following safety measures:
1. Update Zoom Apps ✅
You will want to update the Zoom app and remind students and parents to do so, also. Zoom provides a pop-up notification when there is a new mandatory or optional update within 24 hours of signing-in. If you have the Zoom desktop client installed, you can check for updates by clicking on your profile image and then click Check for Updates.
2. Use a Unique Password and ID 🔑
If you use the “Recurring” Zoom feature, it will not provide as a unique ID. Because the same ID and settings are used, it may make it easier for uninvited participants to access.
3. Create a Waiting Room ⏳
By enabling the Waiting Room feature, students will not be able to join the Zoom call until admitted. The teacher/host will be able to review who wants access and admit one participant at a time or use the “Admit All” option.
4. Remove Unruly or Uninvited Participants 👋
You can remove participants or send them to the Waiting Room.
5. Lock a Meeting Once it Begins 🔒
Once your students have joined the Zoom call, you can Lock the meeting. The Lock a Meeting feature will prevent unwanted guests from entering.
6. Do Not Allow Participants to Rename Themselves 😶
When students join using a parent account, the teacher/host can rename students from the chat rather than letting students rename themselves. By disabling the renaming feature, it removes the temptation for students to take on a different persona.
7. Only Allow the Host to Share Their Screen 🖥
The Teacher/Host can always allow students to share their screens when needed.
8. Turn Off the Annotation and Whiteboard Features 🖍
By turning off the annotation and whiteboard features, participants will not be able to draw over the teacher’s presentation.
9. Do NOT Share the Meeting URL on Social Media 🚫
Do not share the meeting URL on social media so that uninvited guests will join the call. You may want to establish expectations with your students to not share the URL with people who are not in their class.
10. Hide Participant Profile Pictures in a Meeting 📷
When participants’ cameras are turned off, and the Hide Participant Profile Picture feature is enabled, only the students’ initials will show. The feature prevents the possibility of students sharing inappropriate images.